Tuesday July 26, 2011
KING’S Lynn’s Kyle Hughes was the winner of the FAST Golden Hammer in front of a packed house at Monmore Green.

Hughes proved to be the most consistent performer in a wide-open event in which the main contenders all took points off each other, with the crowd enjoying some terrific action.

And the winner revealed afterwards that the big event win means he now feels paid back for the biggest disappointment of his career – when he lost the 2009 National League Riders’ Championship with a chain failure on the final bend.

Hughes was joined on the rostrum by Buxton’s fast-starting Adam Allott, who won four races on his way to 12 points, and Newport youngster Todd Kurtz who matched Allott’s score but had one fewer race win.

Top Heathens performer was Tom Perry who looked very quick on his way to double figures and was left to rue a stoppage when he led his first race as Jack Hargreaves and Jay Herne tangled – and in the re-run, Hughes took the win over Perry.

Adam Roynon made a largely successful comeback from injury with seven points from his first three rides, although he sat out his final outing as a precaution after coming to grief in his fourth.

Meanwhile, the Legends’ series went the way of former Wolves star Sam Ermolenko, who got the better of Heathens’ Jan O Pedersen 3-0, although that didn’t prevent the Dane from receiving a rapturous reception as he appeared on a British track for the first time in nearly 20 years.

Heathens chairman Nigel Pearson said: “It was a fabulous night, and I have to say an absolutely awesome crowd. A massive thanks to everyone for turning out, I hope they all enjoyed it and again it shows what we’re trying to do here.

“Congratulations to Kyle as the meeting winner, but well done to all the riders and it was particularly pleasing to once again be able to work alongside the Dudley Stroke Association to promote the FAST message.”

GOLDEN HAMMER RESULT: Kyle Hughes 13, Adam Allott 12, Todd Kurtz 12, Tom Perry 10, Richie Worrall 10, Jon Armstrong 9, Adam Roynon 7, Jay Herne 7, Steve Worrall 7, Brendan Johnson 7, Ashley Morris 7, Shane Hazelden 4, Darryl Ritchings 4, Byron Bekker 4, Richard Franklin 3, Adam Portwood (res) 3, Jack Hargreaves 0, Cameron Hoskins (res) 0.